SOUND: composition, installations, performance, releases

Division By Zero


Division By Zero is the debut album from 7PRS, the alter-ego of composer Robin Parmar. This album has been released by Kim Cascone's famous label Silent Records, and is available on Bandcamp and worldwide through all digital channels.

This is ambient music, repurposed from found material to emphasise the inherent harmonic content. Metamusical sounds arise, often unexpectedly, from the sources. The tracks were performed live, with no overdubs, between 2015 and 2017.

The initial performance was at the Sonic Dreams Festival in Waterford, which included an abstract film as an integral accompaniment to the sounds. This toured as part of The Drone Cinema Film Festival. For more information, see the separate entry.


TJ Norris reviewed my album over on Toneshift.

"Concluding is the shiftless open sensibility of 'Air'. It's centered and building, like a concentrated mass, with open edges. Towards the middle of the track there are symphonic, atonal underpinnings where the cascade droops and cracks some. When Parmar adds percussion and echo the overall impact is exhilarating. If that's not enough, this entire record was played live with no overdubs, which was surprising to learn. Perhaps in the end the added acoustic chatter was a wink, an 'I'll be back' gesture. Either way, this is a strong conceptual full-length worthy of a larger audience."